Taking responsibility

We have a new team member starting at MPOW at the end of the month – suddenly I won’t be the new person anymore. This is a bit daunting as I find the I’m new here can you tell me how this works card quite useful. I know I’ve only been here a few months and can legitimately use this tactic for a few months more yet, but it brings it into perspective with the thought that there will be someone newer. Maybe I know more than I think I do? I guess I’ll find out when she says I’m new here can you tell me how this works?

I’ve written before about my amazement that other people seem to think I have something useful to say – and it’s happened to me again. I posted to twitter earlier this week:

getting incoming links to my blog from a moodle at monash… does this mean someone thinks I have something important to say? #yikes

Now, this post is not an attempt to have hundreds of people suddenly tell me I have useful things to say – it’s more a reflection on the responsibility to stand behind the stuff I publish online. I know all the rules of social media – don’t publish anything you don’t want made public, think before pressing send/publish/enter/tweet and I follow those rules. It’s more that as a student myself, I like reading the blogs of practitioners, finding out what they think, agreeing, disagreeing, commenting or writing a post in response. It just never occurs to me that others out there might be reading MY posts in that context.

A bit daunting.

4 thoughts on “Taking responsibility

  1. Pingback: Incoming links « Opinions from an OPL

  2. Pingback: Reflection and evaluation « Opinions from an OPL

  3. And yet here I am, as one who follows you on Twitter, and just finished being a student (graduated Friday!) I like reading the blogs of those who are “out there” in the world I long to be a part of (corny phrasing,but oh so true) because it makes me feel like I WILL get there one day, and that I’m not the only one who cares about this stuff enough to study it post grad.

Comments are closed.