Letting go

So, the General has gone to stay with his dad this week and I am busy telling myself it’s ok, I have to loosen the apron strings sometime, he’ll be back eventually, it’s only a week, it’s not a reflection on me as a parent, its…. get the picture?

THEN, he goes and has a car accident while out on  a driving lesson with his dad (he’s fine apart from some nasty whiplash), totally not his fault, needs time off school, trips to the physio, chat with the police, ‘new’ car of 3 days written off and HE’S NOT WITH ME.  I am experiencing some serious ‘lack of control’ issues over this.  Turns out it wasn’t ok, now was NOT a good time to loosen the apron strings, maybe I AM a bad parent, etc etc (still seeing the picture?).
I have always been the one to take care of him when he is sick, injured, hurt, lonely or otherwise needing his mum.  It’s really hard to let go – to realise that he actually has a perfectly capable father who is doing a good job of getting him through this.  Something about ‘if you love something, set it free…….’
Letting go is my issue, not his.
