Day tripper: Oatley Park

New Years Day. Again.

I’m not sure how I feel about the way 2014 went and I’m also not sure what’s coming up in 2015 – I feel like I’m at a sort of crossroads but of what I’m not entirely sure. It’s an unsettling sort of feeling, I’m trusting that time will help me sort it out.

Meanwhile, to try to counteract the excesses and indulgences of a NYE spent with very dear, very old (the friendship that is) friends I took myself off to Oatley Park for a walk and a look around. I’ve never been there, in spite of living in and around the Oatley/Sutherland Shire/St George area for the best part of my adult life. It’s a substantial piece of land, covering about 45 hectares right on the Georges River.

Oatley park mapIt was a pretty hot day and the swimming hole and shady picnic area down on the river was in high demand by the late afternoon.  I got away from the crowds, only the occasional cyclist, walker, kayaker and even one jogger in evidence.  I didn’t stray off the hard surface roads and paths – it’s snake weather for sure today so I’ll save some of the bush paths for a cooler time of the year.

I took a few photos – none of which really captured the brilliant light and the overwhelming sense of red that prevailed everywhere I looked. Magnificent angophoras with their brilliant red trunks, fallen bark, Christmas Bush in abundance. It was truly beautiful.

OatleyParkCollage.jpg

Leave a Reply

