A change of (twitter) identity

Today I took a big step:

twitter handle change

Inspired (as I often am) by a series of career related posts over on Flight Path, I’ve been doing a lot of career thinking and planning lately. While I may have to do some sideways stuff to get there and I’m not entirely sure what it might look like, my goal for my next career step is into management. With this in mind, I decided it was time to retire the @newgradlib identity that has served me so well since I joined twitter in February 2010. Identifying as a new graduate isn’t going to help me convince myself or anyone else that I’m management material.

Ironically, in December I will graduate from the Masters in Information Studies at CSU, meaning that technically I am of course a newgrad. Again. However, it really is a technicality, I graduated from the undergraduate LIS degree 5 years ago, so this Masters is icing on my CV.

One thought on “A change of (twitter) identity

  1. Hey! Just saw this! Thanks heaps for the mention. 🙂 And very timely as I’ve been thinking in the last week I must get back into writing at Flight Path following a rough month. Any topics you’d like to see me write about, don’t hesitate to email me.
    I like the new identity too!

Leave a Reply

