Cooking mojo

One of the side effects of the past few months has been losing my interest in just about everything, including (very sadly for me) cooking. My gorgeous girlfriends helped out by providing a wonderful meal delivery service so no one actually starved during this time, but I lost one of my favourite pastimes.

I’m happy to say that over the past 2 to 3 weeks I’ve started to notice my cooking mojo returning. My motivation (and ability) for getting on and doing things is gradually coming back. Going back to the office a few days a week has been the most noticeable, but my interest in cooking, the garden and getting out and about a little has also increased.

The other night I made Chinese spring onion pancakes. At my previous employer, one of the Chinese staff used to make these and bring them in to work for lunches regularly and I loved them. She told me they were easy to make, but I never got around to it. Recently we’ve had a dumpling bar open up in our local Westfield and I’ve re-discovered these pancakes. They are simple, but I’m not sure about easy to get quite right. I’ll have to have another go and compare I guess!

A quick online search found many entries, but as they are all essentially the same recipe I picked one and ploughed on. I’m not going to reproduce the recipe here, better to spread the link love and send you off to my sources of information! I will share the photos however 🙂

The secret is in rolling out, rolling up and rolling out again

Getting the heat and amount of oil right was a bit tricky

My finished stack of pancakes

3 thoughts on “Cooking mojo

  1. Pingback: February is just fine | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

  2. Pingback: Museum of Sydney | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

Comments are closed.