Incoming links

Putting chance to work from CarbonNYC via flickr CC

I’m a little bit obsessed with the stats page here on WordPress – I like to see how many folk are reading my blog (not very many, trust me) and what they are reading when they get here, but I REALLY like to see where they’ve come from to get here. Sometimes the search strings that have been used to arrive at my blog seem a bit bizarre but they mostly make sense and relate more or less to something I’ve written. Twitter remains the main source of visitors to this blog – emphasising the power of self promotion I guess! (Facebook is the main source of visitors to my personal blog – again reflecting where I choose to broadcast).

However, sometimes readers arrive because someone else has linked to me and that always feels a bit different. I’ve written previously about feeling a bit nervous when I discovered that students were being sent to my blog from an LIS course and I’ve just discovered another similar link. In an online training exercise about weeding, Heather Braum has linked to a post I wrote about 18 months ago.

When I look back at that post it has considerable content – something I’ve gotten out of the habit of doing (particularly during #blogjune!) as I’ve become more familiar with my job and the professional issues I encounter. I’m not sure if it’s that I understand the issues better so feel less like I need to write about them or if it’s a familiarity (or even complacency) thing, that is, do I not even notice them anymore?  Sometimes it’s neither of those things and is just a lack of confidence in my ability to write about them in a way that will engage others. As the best cure for this is to just get on and write it anyway perhaps I’d best go away now and write a list of ‘things to blog about’!

2 thoughts on “Incoming links

  1. Don’t laugh now – but my top post is about farting Birkenstocks!
    I wrote a silly post years ago about the noise Birkenstocks make – and everytime soemone googles – noise Birkenstocks or farting Birkenstocks – they come to my blog post.
    Reminds me- I must update the post a little 🙂

Comments are closed.