These women

I’ve just had a lovely weekend away (here) with a group of women that have been part of my life for many years. Some longer than others, or more on the edges than others but in some way, I have known most of these women for the best part of 15 years. From Friday afternoon to Sunday morning we cooked, we ate, we drank, we laughed and we talked and talked and talked.

Red Shoes

Oh, and I bought these shoes!

Yesterday I blogged that I was away for the weekend and made reference to The West Wing episode These women. Of course, it’s actually called The crackpots and these women but I thought that might be taken the wrong way and it was the strength of the women in that episode that I wanted to focus on, rather than the (not necessarily female) crackpots. Of course over the years we have had many, many crackpot moments, most of which are not for talking about other than amongst ourselves.

I have always held it to be true that women are emotionally strong because we go to Tupperware parties (where Tupperware party is a euphemism for getting together over any common thing and indulging in good old fashioned talking). Today I found an article with this gem in the last paragraph:

Every time we get overly busy with work and family, the first thing we do is let go of friendships with other women, …. We push them right to the back burner. That’s really a mistake because women are such a source of strength to each other. We nurture one another. And we need to have unpressured space in which we can do the special kind of talk that women do when they’re with other women. It’s a very healing experience.

Good huh?

7 thoughts on “These women

  1. Pingback: End of year credits | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

  2. Pingback: The club no one wants to join | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

  3. Pingback: The one word meme | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

Leave a Reply

