Project water polo

I’m excited to be working with Cronulla Water Polo Club to help get their social media presence off the ground. It’s an interesting blend for me of the professional and personal – combining something I have definitely learned about and explored in my professional life with a contribution to a sport that has been such a big part of my personal life over the last 8 or 9 years.

I have been involved with the Club as a parent-of-player since The General started playing back in the U14’s (if I tell you he’s recently finished 1st year at Uni you’ll start to understand) He had played for a few years by then, with a smaller club in a local competition and was heavily involved in the sport at high school from the first day of Year 7 to the last day of Year 12.

This is the first time I’ve put my hand up to put back into the Club in some way – although over the years I’ve been on playgroup, preschool and soccer club committees so it’s not a new process. This time I actually have some expertise to offer – in the form of my knowledge and understanding of the social media environment. It’s easy to forget in the somewhat silo-ed social media landscape in which I live that lots of people don’t understand and don’t know how it works. I’m looking forward to the opportunity to contribute and share some of my knowledge.

If you don’t know much about water polo (or perhaps especially if you do), have a look at this oldie-but-goodie from Roy & HG:

One thought on “Project water polo

  1. Pingback: Honour in sport | Who are these kids and why are they calling me mum?

Comments are closed.