Tattoos

Tattoo Book by L. Marie via flickr CC

WordPress run a ‘daily post’ program, with a new question or theme posed each day. There are hardy souls out there participating in a ‘post a day’ challenge, but I’m happy just following the twitter feed and using the occasional idea as a catalyst for a post.

The question “if you got a tattoo what would it be?” jumped out at me. Tattoos, tattooing, the history of, the reasons for and the historical context of are all hot topics at Chez FamilyLibrarian due to a project Bookworm is undertaking for an HSC subject. Tattoos in one form or another occupy quite a bit of conversation space and we had books piled up everywhere during the intensive research stage.  I think we’ve had every book on tattooing our local public library can produce at one time or another this year.

Tattoos have never really figured in my life up until this point. I grew up in an apple-pie-girl-next-door typical Canberra neighbourhood and didn’t know anyone with a tattoo. It’s never really been something I’ve been interested in for myself, although I truly admire other people’s artwork. Tattoos just don’t inspire an emotional response in me – either positive or negative (well, not positive enough to spend the cash and put up with the pain anyway!).

I’ve always told my kids they can’t have a tattoo until they are 35. It’s a long running joke in our house but like many of my deliberately absurd rules, the kids seem to understand that what I am really saying is that 35 is a euphemism for “please make sure you are old enough to be sure – these are permanent“.

I’ll let you know how the history essay unfolds.

4 thoughts on “Tattoos

  1. my kids have grown up with my tattoos, and so I have always said that of course they can get one when they grow up, BUT, it has to be somewhere that is not visible when wearing a singlet shirt and shorts. We have always talked openly about how people judge outward appearances, and that you never know what sort of work uniform you may need to wear.

  2. I oscillate between wanting and not wanting a tattoo, and the one thing that makes me say no is, it’s permanent! For my part, I’m happy to look at those who have ink and marvel at the artistry, and the sheer masochism on their part 🙂

  3. I have that little book of stick on library tatts. Gift from a former student.
    Agree about the ‘really think about it’ advice.
    Love that add on tv for pots that last a life time, like tattoos. Have you seen it – circulon.
    Teresa

Leave a Reply

