A food meme

A is for apple! this meme comes via Lisa’s Foods on the Move – I’ve adapted it slightly to make it more relevant to Australia.

Food Prep by Steve Snodgrass via Flickr CC

A is for Apple, what’s your favorite variety?

Pink Lady. And those little Royal Galas. And some of the heirloom varieties that I’ve only ever tried once or twice at markets and never got around to buying….

B: is for Bread, regardless of nutrition, calories, or whole grains what is your favorite type to have a nice big piece of?

Sourdough, or maybe ciabatta…..

C: is for Cereal what is in your pantry right now?

Weet-Bix & NutriGrain. I know NutriGrain is really empty calories but Young Gun & I both like it. So there.

D: is for Doughnuts – what’s your favourite?

I don’t eat them very often but especially love the smell of those hot cinnamon ones ……

E: is for Eggs, how would you like yours prepared?

Fried or scrambled (or poached when I eat them at a cafe as I can’t poach them myself #fail).

F: is for Fruit – what’s your favourite?

Mango. Hands down.

G: is for Groceries, where do you purchase yours at?

Aldi, Woolies, Franklins or Woolies online – location usually determines as it’s whatever works best with all the other stuff I fit in over a weekend.

H: is for Hot Beverages, what is your favorite hot drink?

Coffee. No question.

I: is for Ice Cream, pick a favorite flavor and add a fun topping.

Vanilla – when I was a child I used to have vanilla ice cream with 100’s & 1000’s sprinkled on top.

J: is for Jam – what kind and flavor?

Fig Jam

K: is for Kangaroo – yay or nay?

Yay, definitely yay. Love it. Tandoori roo is the bomb. Try Linda Woodrow’s blog for great roo recipes.

L: is for Lunch, what was yours today?

Homemade pumpkin soup accompanied by Celia’s homemade foccacia (domestic goddess moment).

M: is for microwave, what is your favorite microwave meal/snack?

Surprisingly, nachos is great in the microwave. Corn chips, sprinkle on grated cheese, zap for a few minutes then add your topping. Beats heating up the oven and all that waiting around (and yes, the corn chips stay crunchy).

N: is for nuts – what’s your favourite?

Macadamias & cashews (although almonds are pretty good too.. and brazils.. and hazelnuts…..)

O: is for oil, what kind do you like to use?

Rice Bran oil for cooking, olive oil for flavour and dressings.

P: is for protein, how do you get yours?

I’m a meat eater, but also love tofu, cheese, nuts, eggs (I think I’m a vegetarian on the inside)

Q: is for Quaker, how do you like your oats?

In Anzac biscuits (and I love porridge on cold mornings with nuts, dried fruit and honey… noms).

R: is for roasting, what is your favorite thing to roast?

Pretty much any autumn/winter root vegetable – but garlic is probably my favourite thing

S: is for sandwich, what’s your favorite kind?

Toasted cheese

T: is for travel, how do you handle eating while traveling?

Badly – I’m never prepared enough. I usually start out with good intentions and handsful of nutritious snacks like nuts and fruit and it just goes downhill from there.

U: is for unique, what is one of your weirdest food combos?

I’m very fond of peanut butter & jam on toast. Hangover from my days living in the US of A as a kid.

V: is for vitamins, what kind do you take?

None – prefer to ensure my diet is wide ranging. I might sometimes take a B formula if I’m very run down or feeling stressed but it’s pretty unusual.

W: is for wasabi, yay or nay?

Yay! In small doses, but I love it.

X: is for XRAY. if we xrayed your belly right now, what food would we see?

A couple of cups of tea and some yummy plum cake I made today from a new recipe I found in an audio book of all things.

Y: is for youth, what food reminds you of your childhood?

Fairy bread & corned beef (not necessarily together…)

Z: is for zucchini, how do you prepare it?

Grated, tossed in a frying pan with lots of chili, garlic & olive oil then folded through hot pasta. Yum! This is an old Charmaine Solomon recipe.

6 thoughts on “A food meme

  1. Pingback: A is for apple meme | retrokatz

  2. I also can’t poached eggs to save my life. Nor make decent pancakes, though my belgian waffles are fantastic if I do say so myself.

  3. Poached egg on toast is my favourite ‘can’t be bothered cooking a meal for myself’ dinner. But they always tate nicer when someone else makes them for you :). Great post!

Comments are closed.