Shutdown

I just read Bookgrrl’s post on the communication shutdown for Autism that’s a worldwide event today, 1st November.

I too, have shutdown for the day, but as I didn’t have the foresight to blog about that before the event, my twitter mates will  just have to read about it afterwards (because I think publicising this post via twitter as I normally would probably violates the shutdown!).

I chose to shutdown twitter for the day, because I knew it would be difficult for me to do.  I’m not especially into making my life harder for myself, but I decided that choosing to shutdown Facebook would be, for me, a hollow commitment as I probably log onto Facebook 3 or 4 times a week now at most.  Twitter on the other hand, is my professional lifeblood – choosing to cut myself off from twitter on a workday is a BIG DEAL.  I’m almost twitchy in my twitterless-ness.

It’s not unusual for me to go a whole weekend without logging into twitter so I’m interested in the fact that I’m having trouble staying off it today.  Could be the forbidden fruit factor, but I think it’s more likely that I have set twitter up as a professional networking tool and I therefore associate it with work and it has become part of my regular work day.

That’s not to say I don’t have friends on twitter – but they are friends I’ve met (some even in real life) through our professional interest in a common subject area, namely libraryland.  I’m not a 24/7 librarian so it mostly doesn’t occur to me to look at my twitter stream on weekends, even though those same professional colleagues are often tweeting interesting stuff about many things unrelated to libraryland.  I’ve managed to somehow compartmentalise my social networking into ‘work’ and ‘family/play’.  Most of the times I log into Facebook are on weekends, because that’s where my non-library friends and my family are hanging out.

I’ll be really interested to get back onto twitter tomorrow and see what the feedback is from others that I know have #shutdown for today as well.

