Miss, how do I cite a YouTube video?

I’m currently writing the Plagiarism and Referencing part of my online library modules for our Moodle here at MPOW.  Delivering information literacy instruction entirely online is a challenge, I would far rather be in front of the students talking to and working with them, particularly bearing in mind the ESL status of our students.  I am mindful of the need to keep my online lessons engaging and interesting so use a variey of learning objects to really mix up the delivery. I am grateful to Jo at Macaronic for introducing me to Xtranormal – a simple video making tool that allows me to introduce each new topic using the words that I want to use, delivered in a way that is slightly quirky and hopefully engaging for students.

Because of  limited resources and being reluctant to re-invent the wheel anyway, I went trawling through YouTube looking for a suitable video that someone else might have prepared earlier.  I admit to being  fairly critical of most of the videos I find – there’s usually something about most of them that are not quite right for my purposes.  Either they are too complex for my ESL students,too American, too institution specific or just plain old too long.  Too long is a real issue – not only are my students Gen Y 18-21 year olds with short attention spans and more mobile devices to distract them than the average modern tweeting librarian – but they are learning in their second (or third) language and a long video simply puts them off.  Australian content is also an issue.  I’m not an accent snob, I’m happy to use a US video if it is appropriate, but I would rather use one with Australian voices if possible, after all, our students have come here to learn both Accounting AND something about the Australian culture and way of life.

To cut an increasingly long story short, I found an appropriate video, used my newly found embedding-in-html-code skills to include it in my lesson and bob was theoretically my uncle.  Huzzah!  It then occurred to me that I had absolutely no idea how to correctly cite a video from YouTube in my references.  Nothing in my 9 year long undergraduate slog had prepared me for citing a video – I’d never used one in any sort of assignment or paper.  Google to the rescue!  I threw ‘citing youtube videos’ into search and of all things, up popped a post from our very own 30-day-blogger moonflowerdragon on this very topic.

Gotta love this online community.

image: 8.00am class by Robert S. Donovan via flickr
6 thoughts on “Miss, how do I cite a YouTube video?

  1. Pingback: Putting yourself out there in context… | Librarians Matter

  2. I hope my guesses/suggestions were useful NewGradLibrarian. That post receives 40-80 visitors a day, and I’m never sure whether readers are happy with what they find. Which video did you use and want to cite?

    Considering the variety of problems with found videos, you might be interested in a tool I have not investigated but stumbled upon today at Information Literacy meets Library 2.0:

    TubeChop: apparently it allows you to easily chop a section from any YouTube video and share it.

    • Thanks Penny! I’m really enjoying this challenge and it’s so lovely to know there’s people out there ‘listening’ to what I’ve got to say. So nice for my self confidence as a new grad in the field 🙂

Leave a Reply

