Road tripping

One of the things I’ve had to get used to over the past few years is going places by myself. Working full time has given me a new appreciation of the weekends and I’m reluctant to waste them hanging about the house doing not much. So, this weekend finds me in Bathurst – meeting up eventually with some cousins from up north on their travels it’s true – sitting in a coffee shop overlooking the magnificent old buildings of the main street. I’m flicking through real estate magazines and the local papers trying to get a feel for this town of 30,000 or so folks (and blogging via iPhone which is appallingly slow for someone used to touch typing!).

I’m learning to enjoy my own company (luckily as I work more or less by myself as well) and also to be more outgoing and assertive in meeting and talking to strangers. Here then, is the segue to work related issues that this blog is meant to be covering.

I’m about to register for the ALIA conference in Brisbane in September. It seems like everyone else going already knows everyone else and that can be a bit confronting. It will actually be my third ALIA conference, but I am determined this time to network well, talk with vendors, relate as much as possible to MPOW and talk to strangers! As my much missed grandmother used to say “there are no strangers here, only friends we haven’t met yet”.

And after all, I have learned the power of networking many times in the past – just not in libraryland. Bless you NGACers, for all your tweets, emails, blog entries and even your singing, I feel like we are halfway to friends already!

5 thoughts on “Road tripping

  1. Pingback: 30 things here too « Opinions from an OPL

  2. LOL I don’t know everyone but I sure feel like I know a lot through NGAC/twitter etc. You’ll be fine, stick with us 😉

  3. I agree snail, but it’s lovely to have “met” people on twitter already and just feel like you are catching up with old friends, rather than going cold.

  4. Funnily enough, despite being a twitter addict, some of my best meets at VALA were face to face, though it was also nice to meet some bloggers. I do find though, most folk are usually welcoming of folk they don’t know.

Comments are closed.